Will Stewart Wins Holley EFI Shootout at King of the Hammers With Near-Perfect Run

10 min read

Will Stewart Wins Holley EFI Shootout at King of the Hammers With Near-Perfect Run

10 min read

With pinpoint driving and max power, Texas native Will Stewart won The Holley EFI Shootout presented by KMC, King, and Action Sports Canopies, narrowly edging out Anthony Yount, 19.03 seconds to 22.14. Third-place Kyle Hathaway, who led for much of the event, was the only other driver in the same stratosphere with a time of 34.78 seconds. Adam Ringer claimed fourth place in 50.22 seconds and Matt Holt rounded out the top five with a time of exactly one minute, 1:00.00.

One of the highlights of King of the Hammers Week year after year, The Holley EFI Shootout is open to the rock bouncers of the Southern Rock Racing Series, ULTRA4 machines, and homebuilt rock crawlers. This year's event attracted thousands of avid fans and a horde of top drivers to "Backdoor" to determine who really is the fastest driver up the 10-foot ledge, including Jason Harris and West Coast rock crawlers Cody Wagoneer and Justin Kielman.

Staged on the infield of the King of the Hammers qualifying course in Johnson Valley, Calif., the steep, loose rock ledges led to numerous rollovers and broken driveline components. More than half of the 32 drivers who tackled the brutal, challenging terrain never made their way to the top, including Jack Porter, Jason Gray, Collette Clairborne, Justin Haft, Joe Pierce, Brent Harrell Jr., Jerry Stevens, Dennis Large, Rob Inglis, Ryan Boyd, Chris Kaufman, Andrew Zaunmiller, Cory Hawkins, Jason Moon, Brett Harrell, Aaron Miller, Aaron Patrick, Steven Robinson, Mike Bradley, Joey Weber, and Wes Keen.


1       Will Stewart  19.03

2       Anthony Yount     22.14

3       Kyle Hathaway     34.78

4       Adam Ringer 50.22

5       Matt Holt      1:00.05

6       Josh Harris  1:07.86

7       Cody Waggoner  1:12.97

8       Jason Bartram     1:26.63

9       Justin Kielman     2:05.71

         Jack Porter  DNF

         Jason Gray  DNF

         Collette Clairborne DNF

         Justin Haft   DNF

         Joe Pierce    DNF

         Brent Harrell Jr.      DNF

         Jerry Stevens         DNF

         Dennis Large DNF

         Rob Inglis    DNF

         Ryan Boyd   DNF

         Chris Kaufman       DNF

         Andrew Zaunmiller DNF

         Cory Hawkins         DNF

         Jason Moon DNF

         Brett Harrell  DNF

         Aaron Miller DNF

         Aaron Patrick         DNF

         Steven Robinson   DNF

         Mike Bradley DNF

         Joey Weber DNF

         Wes Keen    DNF


464 Posts