MoParty 2023: Grand Champion


MoParty 2023: Grand Champion


The 2023 MoParty Grand Champion: Where Mopar Glory Meets Unbridled Horsepower

The 2023 MoParty Grand Champion competition roars to life at Beech Bend Raceway. This gathering of Mopar devotees and speed demons brings together the best in classic and modern muscle cars, and boy, it's a showstopper.

The Grand Champion competition, presented by Scoggin Dickey Parts Center and Mopar Connection, is the ultimate test of Mopar prowess. Competitors must excel in drag racing, autocross, and the 3S Challenge, showcasing their speed, handling, and stopping power. With classes for Late Model, Vintage, and Trucks, the Grand Champion battle is an exhilarating showdown for supremacy.

At the heart of MoParty is the fierce competition for the coveted Grand Champion title. This sought-after accolade isn't solely about horsepower; instead, it combines power, agility, and style perfectly. Think of it as a symphony of mechanical excellence.

The action kicked off with the autocross segment, where drivers pushed their vehicles through a challenging course filled with tight turns, slaloms, and hairpin bends. It was a test of precision and skill, as competitors aimed for that elusive perfect lap.

Justin Peachy, who won Grand Champion at LS Fest last weekend and took home all three Grand Champ awards the previous year (LS Fest, MoParty, and Ford Fest), borrowed his brother's car last year to compete at MoParty. His brother, Eric Peachy, took his 2008 Dodge Viper back this year and kicked butt right out of the gate.

As of Saturday afternoon, Eric is first with a 36.996, almost three seconds faster than second-place Raymond Ellsworth, and a 2008 Dodge Viper, 39.079. In his 2016 Dodge Challenger, John Brown is narrowly third with a 39.213. Raymond's brother, Ryan Ellsworth, is fourth with a 42.054 in his 1997 Dodge Viper.

The vintage class is heating up, with Kurt Chenoweth running first with a 39.901. Robert Ellsworth is the brother of the other Ellsworth in the Late Model class and is a close second with a 40.532. Both front runners are in 1970 Dodge Challengers, but Robert's is very different, as it rides on a late-model Dodge Viper chassis with extensive home-made carbon-fiber work.

Grant Skidmore is a MoParty regular, ever sharpening his 1997 Jeep Cherokee two-door, competing in the Truck Class. He's currently running up front with a 41.354. In second place is Greg Huizenga, with his 1975 Jeep Cherokee running a 42.272. James Phipps in his 1988 Dodge D150 running 43.029.

Those competing in Grand Champion must drag race and autocross. However, participants are welcome to compete in autocross only. Running up front in autocross is Robert Laughard with a 41.402, followed by Chad Suhre with a 46.760.

Carson York, at only 19 years old, brought his 2013 Challenger. He features a handful of suspension upgrades and 305-wide tires. He's currently in 6th for the Late Model class. Carson runs several SCCA events and the last three years of the MoParty competition. "This is the first time with several things figured out. I'm feeling pretty confident," said Carson. "I think I'm going to be pretty good with this one."

Larissa Lownsdale, brought a knife to a gunfight with her bone-stock 2020 SXT Plus Charger. She registered with her racecar, a 5.7L Charger Pursuit, but it blew the engine shortly before MoParty, and she switched to her daily driver. But, luckily, she's raced it before. Being comfortable behind the wheel makes her a contender despite the lack of handling or engine upgrades. Her goals? "Have a good time, spend time with friends," said Larissa. "I'm here to enjoy MoParty."

Grand Champion Results

MoParty 2023 wraps up another successful year! Following the immense success of MoParty 2022, we're gearing up for another unforgettable event. Thousands of enthusiastic spectators, participants, skilled racers, influential figures, and media converged upon Beech Bend Raceway, transforming the venue into a true haven for the Mopar faithful.

Dyno Challenge, HP Tuners, and American Muscle

Power Adder Class

Larry Rose, 2018 Dodge Demon, 922 hp

Robert Ellsworth, 1970 Dodge Challenger, 817 hp

Non-Power Adder Class

Raymond Ellsworth, 2008 Dodge Viper, 660 hp

Eric Peachey, 2008 Dodge Viper, 536 hp

Ryan Ellsworth, 1997 Dodge Viper, 1997

Grand Champion Winners, Presented by Scoggin Parts Center and Holley Motor Life

Grand Champion winners have the highest cumulative points for autocross, drag racing, and 3S challenge. They take home $1,000 from Holley Performance, a big trophy, and a custom jacket.

Truck Class: Greg Huizenga, 1975 Jeep Cherokee

Late Model: Eric Peachey, 2008 Dodge Viper

Vintage Class: Kurt Chenoweth, 1970 Dodge Challenger

Autocross Winners, Sponsored by Hurst and Stacey David's Gearz

Eric Peachey, 2008 Dodge Viper

Raymond Ellsworth, 2008 Dodge Viper

John Brown, 2016 Dodge Challenger

3S Challenge, Sponsored by B&M and Hemmings

Eric Peachey, 2008 Dodge Viper

John Brown, 2016 Dodge Challenger

Raymond Ellsworth, 2008 Dodge Viper

GC Drag Race, Sponsored by Diablo Sport

Raymond Ellsworth, 2008 Dodge Viper

Eric Peachey, 2008 Dodge Viper

Jerry Mathis, 2008 Dodge Viper

Optima Spirit of the Event Award: Greg Huizenga

Greg wins an invite to the Optima Search for the Ultimate Street Car Invitational in Las Vegas!


139 Posts


22 Posts


4 Posts