MENU

The Season is Starting!

By: Sean B.02/17/2014 < Back to Blog Home
blog_season-is-starting-900.jpg

NHRA

The NHRA racing season is kicking off this weekend in Pomona, California. At last year's February event in Pomona, Al Anabi Racing driver Shawn Langdon won Top Fuel, Courtney Force won Funny Car and Vincent Nobile won Pro Stock. Langdon would go on to win the 2013 NHRA Mello Yello Top Fuel season points, with the legendary John Force winning his 16th Funny Car championship and Jeg Coughlin Jr. capturing the points for the Pro Stock season.

This weekend looks to bring temperatures in the mid 60s to the track at Pomona, which beats the temperature at our ACCEL corporate headquarters in Cleveland, Ohio right now. The colder air can mean more horsepower and looks to be very good racing weather for the kick-off event.

Watch the Circle K NHRA Winter Nationals Qualifying, 11:00 PM - 1:00 AM ET/8:00 PM - 10:00 PM PT (ESPN2) on Saturday Feb. 8th and Eliminations 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM ET/5:00 PM - 8:00 PM PT (ESPN) on Sunday Feb. 9th.

ARCA

Last year, Frank Kimmel won his record 10th ARCA Racing Series season championship, but it was the then-23 year old, John Wes Townley who won from the pole at the ARCA season debut in Daytona. This year Frank Kimmel returns along with nephew Will Kimmel, John Wes Townley, Daytona expert Bobby Gerhart, Grant Enfinger, Tom Hessert, Justin Boston, Chase Elliot and many more.

But the big news for the 2014 ARCA Racing Series is the debut of the new mandated ignition system, the ACCEL CD Pro Ignition system. You won't want to miss the ARCA debut, which will air on FOX Sports 1 on Saturday Feb. 15th.